World Cup: Rohr drops 4 Players, Hopes on Moses Simon

Super Eagles head coach Rohr has dropped the quartet of goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye, defender Stephen Eze, midfielder Uche Agbo, as well as NPFL hotshot Junior Lokosa, as he trimmed his list to 24 players.

Rohr, 64, had earlier revealed that five players would be dropped from the cut before the team jets out for the prestige friendly with England weekend.

While most of the fringe players didn’t make the cut, the German coach however opted for FC Crotone of Italy striker Simeon Nwankwo as the striker battles it out for the final 23-man squad that will fly to Russia in the coming days.

Despite being backed by Rohr in his pre-match conference prior to the DR Congo clash last Friday, Standard Liege midfielder Agbo was dropped after not featuring in any of the qualifiers, while NPFL hotshot Lokosa also misses out despite putting in a good shift in the game against Congo Monday.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Football Federation says Super Eagles’ winger, Moses Simon will undergo one more scan in London ahead of Nigeria’s game against England on Saturday.

Simon was initially ruled out of the World Cup by Head Coach Gernot Rohr after the player’s scan results confirmed he would be out of the tournament.

But Moses requested for a further scan in the UK, with Rohr granting him his wish to prove his fitness ahead of the world cup.

The Eagles squad travelling to take on the Three Lions is made up of three goalkeepers, nine defenders, seven midfielders and five attackers.

Chelsea FC star Victor Moses will join the group in the UK ahead of Saturday’s friendly against England at Wembley Stadium where the Blues beat Manchester United to win the FA Cup two weeks ago.

The Complete Squad

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina, Elderson Echiejile.

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Agu, Wilfred Ndidi, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Oghenekharo Etebo, Mikel Obi.

Attackers: Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo and Simeon Nwankwo.

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *