OPC to Celebrate 25th Anniversary

The pan-Yoruba cultural organisation, Oodua People’s Congress (OPC), will during the week celebrate its silver jubilee.

According to the organisers, over 24 pro-democracy activists, who laid down their lives during the June 12 1994 struggle, will be bestowed with posthumous awards at the grand finale of the 25th anniversary.

At a briefing yesterday, OPC National Coordinator Otunba Gani Adams and  Publicity Secretary Yinka Oguntimehin said some of those pencilled for the awards, include the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo, the late Moshood Abiola, Chief Gani Fawehinmi, Dr. Beko Ransome-Kuti, Pa Adekunle Ajasin, Abraham Adesanya, Justice Adewale Thompson, Ambassador Segun Olusola, Chief Rasheed Gbadamosi, Olumide Adeniji, Tony Ngrube, Prof. Sophie Oluwole, Ibraheem Abobanawo, and the OPC founding father and spiritual leader, the late Dr. Fredrick Fasehun.”

Others to be honoured are: Prof. Wole Soyinka, Femi Falana (SAN), Femi Aborishade, Kehinde Oluwole, Gabriel Akinadewo, Dr. Joe Okei- Odumakin and Yemisi Shylon.

Adams, who is the Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland, recounted  the tortuous journey that started 25 years ago, saying the entire experience calls for celebration.

He said Thursday, which is the grand finale of  the event, will feature a public lecture by a Professor of Political Economy and International Relations, University of Lagos, Tunde Babawale.


Leave a Reply