Lagos Assembly Rejects 3 of Sanwo-Olu’s Nominees

The Lagos state house of assembly has confirmed 35 out of the 38 nominees of Babajide Sanwo-Olu, governor of the state, for appointment as commissioners and special advisers.

Those who failed to make the cut are Adekemi Ajayi-Bembe, Obafemi George and Olanrewaju Sanusi.

The followed the presentation, debate and adoption of the report of the house’s 16-man ad hoc committee for the screening of the nominees presented by Rotimi Abiru, chairman of the committee and chief whip of the house.

The confirmed nominees were Tunji Bello, Gbolahan Lawal, Wale Ahmed, Lola Akande, Olanrewaju Elegushi, Hakeem Fahm, Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Afolabi Ayantayo and Samuel Egube.

Others are Bolaji Dada, Moruf Akinderu-Fatai, Olusegun Dawodu, Solape Hammond, Kabiru Abdullahi, Olalere Odusote and Aramide Adeyoye.

Frederick Oladeinde, Olatunbosun Alake, Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN), Akin Abayomi, Rabiu Olowo, Idris Salako, Bonu Solomon Saanu, Folashade Adefisayo, and Oluwatoyin Fayinka were also confirmed.

Aderemi Adebowale, Shulamite Adebolu, Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Adetokunbo Wahab, Ajibola Ponnle, Yetunde Arobieke, Ruth Olusanya, Gbenga Omotoso, Oladele Ajayi, and Joe Igbokwe were also confirmed.

On the invitation of the speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, the nominees promised to serve the state conscientiously in whichever portfolio assigned to them by the governor.

After a voice vote on each nominee by the speaker, the house confirmed 35 out of the 38 nominees as commissioners and special advisers-designate.

He directed Sanni Azeez, clerk of the house, to forward the list of the confirmed nominees to Sanwo-Olu, adding that the governor could still re-nominate those rejected by the house.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *