Iwobi, Salah, Mane Shortlisted for Caf Player of the Year

Alex Iwobi is the only Nigerian on a 10-man shortlist for the 2018 Caf African Player of the Year Award.

Iwobi, 22, was among 34 players nominated for the prestigious award a fortnight ago, and he remains the last Super Eagles player standing after the nominees were pruned down to 10.

The Arsenal forward scored the goal that took Nigeria to the 2018 World Cup – a neat finish in a 1-0 win over Zambia in October 2017 – and he’s remained a mainstay in the team under Gernot Rohr.

He has also played a huge part as Unai Emery’s Arsenal enjoy a 21-match unbeaten run, a fact that saw the Gunners reward him with a new five-year deal.

Salah and Oshoala are the reigning Players of the Year in Africa. Image: BBC

Other Premier League stars, Riyad Mahrez, Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang are in the race for Africa’s biggest individual award.

On a rather disappointing note for Nigerian fans, Ahmed Musa, as well as Rohr, have both dropped out in the race for honours in the 2018 CAF Awards.

Asisat Oshoala however remains in the running for the Women Player of the Year after helping Nigeria win a ninth Cup of Nations in Ghana.

African Player of the Year

  • 1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  • 2. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
  • 3. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  • 4. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • 5. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  • 6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • 7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  • 8. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  • 9. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • 10. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • 1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  • 2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  • 3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  • 4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • 5. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  • 6. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  • 7. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
  • 8. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • 9. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  • 10. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
  • 11. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)
, ,

Leave a Reply