Iwobi, Ighalo, Musa Nominated for Caf Player of the Year

Super Eagles trio of Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa and Jude Odion Ighalo have been nominated for the 2018 CAF African Player Of The Year Award.

Leading the 34-man list is reigning Africa player of the Year Mohamed Salah, along with Liverpool’s pair of Saido Mane and Naby Keita.

Other notable players nominated for the award are former winners, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Riyad Mahrez, while Percy Tau, Mehdi Benatia and Thomas Partey were also nominated.

Super Eagles midfielder Wilfred Ndidi also made the six man shortlist for the young player of the Year for the CAF Awards 2018.

The Leicester midfielder will go up against AC Milan and Ivory Coast’s Franck Kessie, Rennes and Senegal’s Ismaila Sarr, Achraf Hakimi of Morocco and Borussia Dortmund, among others.

For the women’s African player of the year, Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie, Francisca Ordega and Onome Ebi were nominated for the continent’s top gong.

Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr was also nominated for the coach of the year, wher ehe’ll vie for the honour with Morocco coach Herve Renard, Senegal’s Aliou Cisse and Raja Casablanca’s Spanish manager Juan Carlos Garrido.

The CAF Awards 2018 Gala to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *