INEC Declares Buhari Winner of Presidential Election

Prof Mahmood Yakubu, chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared President Muhammadu Buhari winner of Saturday’s presidential election in the wee hours of Wednesday.

Buhari, flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress, garnered 15,191,847 votes to win a second term in office after last Saturday’s polls.

His main challenger, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), trailed with 11,262,978 votes.

Yakubu announced that a certificate of return will be issued to Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo at the international Conference Center (ICC).

The announcement by the INEC chairman comes after Atiku’s Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has rejected the result, citing irregularities.

Buhari won in 19 states, while Atiku emerged victorious in 17 states and the federal capital territory (FCT).

The president won with a wider margin than in 2015 when he scored 15, 424,921 votes to beat Goodluck Jonathan, the incumbent president, who scored 12,853,162 votes.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *