Gboyega Oyetola Sworn In as Osun Governor

Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, the winner of the recent governorship election in Osun State and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was on Tuesday inaugurated as governor of the state.

He took the oath of office at Osogbo Township Stadium, at the state capital as he officially assumes the reins of governance of the south-west state from Alhaji Rauf Aregebsola.

Earlier in the day, the new deputy governor, Benedict Alabi, also took his oath of office at the event.

President Muhammadu Buhari was represented at the event by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, while other dignitaries in attendance include the Ooni of Ife, Adeyeye Ogunwusi; the national leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu and the national chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomhole.

Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State also attended.

Oyetola was declared winner of a keenly contested Osun governorship election held in September 2018, defeating Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after a contentious runoff.

Adeleke and the PDP have however challenged the victory in court, vowing to reclaim the stolen mandate of the people.


Leave a Reply