Buhari Appoints ex-IG Smith as Police Service Commission Chair

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a former Inspector General of Police, Musiliu Smith as the chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC) to replace the outgoing Mike Okiro whose five-year tenure has elapsed.

The President’s letter was read by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, during today’s plenary, in which he also named three others as members of the commission. They are Clara Ogunbiyi (full-time commissioner), north-east; Lawal Bawa (full-time commissioner), north-west; Mohammed Najatu (member) north-west.

Buhari based his request on sections 153 (1) and 154(1) of the constitution as amended.

“In compliance with the provisions of section 153 (1) and 154(1) of the 1999 constitution of the Federral Republic of Nigeria, as amended, I write to forward for confirmation by the senate the underlisted names as the chairman and members of Police Service Commission (PSC). I attach here, with their CVs,” the president’s letter read.

“In anticipation of the early consideration and confirmation of the above appointments by the distinguished senators, please accept, Mr Senate president, the assurance of my highest consideration.”

Musiliu Adeola Kunbi Smith was an Inspector General of Police (IGP) appointed in May 1999, and retired in March 2002 following a police strike.

He was replaced by Mustafa Adebayo Balogun, and in 2006 became Chairman of the Skye Bank board of directors.

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *