Benue Assembly Suspends APC Lawmakers behind Ortom Impeachment

The Benue State House of Assembly has suspended the eight lawmakers who served an ‘impeachment notice’ on Governor Samuel Ortom on Monday.

On a day of political turmoil in the state, 19 lawmakers, under the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, during a counter plenary at the old banquet hall of the Government House in Makurdi, suspended the APC lawmakers for contempt of court and for holding illegal plenary.

The mostly APC lawmakers, who gained access to the assembly complex to commence what they termed ‘impeachment’ on the Governor, are Adanyi Benjamin, Terhemba Chabo, Benjamin Nungwa, Bem Mngutyo, Adams Okloho, James Okefe and Nick Eworo.

The lawmakers were led by the impeached Speaker of the House, Terkimbi Ikyange (APC Ushongo) who was also later suspended by the house following his attempt to gain access to the state Assembly complex two days ago, Vanguard writes.

Reacting to the purported impeachment, Governor Ortom, in a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Terver Akase, said the necessary process, both legal and constitutional, towards impeaching a Governor were not even followed by the lawmakers.

“They have not been able to form a quorum, so it is not possible,” the statement read.

“Only eight people served the governor the notice, even at that, 2 other members who were part of the kangaroo sitting were on the side of the governor, so how can anybody call that an impeachment notice. It’s laughable and must be ignored completely.”

, ,

Leave a Reply