APC’s Kasuda Wins Katsina Bye-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday night declared Abubakar Yahaya Kusada of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the bye-election in Kusada/Kankia/Ingawa federal constituency in Katsina state.

INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the poll, Prof. Rasheed Adedayo Hamzat said Kasuda polled 48,518 votes to emerge winner of the Reps seat.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and received the highest votes cast Abubakar Yahaya Kusada of the APC is hereby return as the winner,” the returning officer said.

He defeated three others namely Abdulsamad Abdullahi of the PDP who had 20,193 votes; Basiru Aminu of the PRP who scored 1,810 votes and Abdullahi Umar of YES with 221 votes.

INEC revealed that the number of votes cast was 70,742, while 2,331votes were rejected.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *